Assessment as Habit

It’s just like waking up, taking a bath, brushing your teeth, and leaving for some place outside the comfort of your home. Assessment is a habit, recommended to be cyclical.

I remember for always wanting to call in sick for school every time that there is a scheduled National Achievement Test because shading circles the whole day is not my thing, to be honest. NAT is always on my mind since I learned about assessment because it is very remarkable to me that the results of the said test is used to measure the level of learning of the students in a particular level. Definitely a form of assessment. Although there is no bearing in the individual grade, there may be a significant adjustment from the side of the teachers depending on the result of the exam. I am not sure of this, this is just a speculation based on my observation. The subjects in the said achievement test “demands” more effort from the students especially when the test season is just around the corner. Maybe it’s just me, but I think this is something possible.

Feedback, for me, was the highlight of the module. Not to down play the other aspect of assessment, but feedback is always taken for granted if not neglected most of the time. Even as a student, when we are asked to answer evaluation forms about the performance of our teacher for a given quarter, will just check or shade any number where our pencil lands. This is unfair to the side of the teachers to especially when we do not even give them a reason or recommendation that can back up what we shaded.

This is not something I want to repeat or commit again when it comes to doing assessments. The best advice was already given to me by Westminster – Plan-Do-Check-Act.

Easier said than done. All the time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

